My Top 5 Gay Comedy Movies


To Wong Foo (1995) :

Plot : “Three drag queens travel cross-country until their car breaks down, leaving them stranded in a small town.”

Why : Not only is the movie well made, it is an amazing story about drag queens who win a drag contest and decide to bring an aspiring hispanic drag queen with them on their beautiful adventure across  the country where their car breaks down. THeir adventured take them to a boring dim little town, where they drastically change the way of life of its people. !



Another Gay Movie (2006)

Plot: “Four gay high school friends make a pact to lose their virginity before they go to college.”

Why: Even thought this is jam-packed with about a million stereotypes and is a rip of American pie, Edge Of seventeen and a few other movies. It was still a pretty funny movie. My friend watched the movie with her other friend, and when her mom saw it she got mad, and said never to watch it again! LMAO it was a precious moment!



The Big Gay Musical (2009)

Plot: “Paul and Eddie have just begun previews for the new Off-Broadway musical “Adam and Steve Just the Way God Made ‘Em.” Their lives strangely mirror the characters they are playing. Paul is looking for the perfect man and Eddie is dealing with how his sexuality and faith can mix.”

Why: I love how controversial this movie is.  This is one of my favorite “musical” type of movies. Not too much singing, it was the perfect balance!


The Bird Cage (1996)

Plot: “A gay cabaret owner and his drag queen companion agree to put up a false straight front so that their son can introduce them to his fiancé’s right-wing moralistic parents.”

Why: I loved this movie ever since i was a child. Not only is the cast well-chosen, it was pretty hilarious. I really should watch the original ” La Cage Aux Folles”



Hedwig and the Angry Inch

Plot: “A transsexual punk rock girl from East Berlin tours the US with her rock band as she tells her life story and follows the ex-boyfriend/bandmate who stole her songs.”

Why : This is a rather interesting movie. I love the myth of the origin on love. It’s a beautiful movie. Not really a comedy though.
8 Comments

Filed under Movie Review, Uncategorized

8 responses to “My Top 5 Gay Comedy Movies

  1. Oh, Hedwig is just awesome!

    How about French movies? Like 8 women? Belle Maman?
    I cannot imagine my life without those as well!

    And the original of the La Cage – it is Italian.. There are three parts to it, if you fancy, but in all honesty, the third one sucks!

  2. Robin Hartman

    Hmm i never knew that about the bird cage, thanks for letting me know, ill make sure to watch it haha. Hmm as for French movies, i loved ( Just une question d’amour, Les chansons D’amour, and Lillies )

  3. Seen them all, some I liked others I loved, I would add two: Priscilla Queen of the Desert, and Adam & Steve, both of which were sweet and funny and stand up with multiple viewings.

    Fun post!

    • Robin Hartman

      I LOVED both those movies! i added Adam And Steve an another blog, ( romance Themed one) though i should have added it on this one !
      Thanks!

  4. Good choice of movies.

    I’m not so sure about the quality of “Another Gay Movie”, but I did like the same sort like “Eating Out”.

    I loved “Too Wong Foo” though and I really need to look into that “Hewdwig …” one. I’m from East Berlin and know some transexuals there, so this would be amazing. Kinda like comparing past and present (although it’s questionable how true the story is in the film).

    I would definitely add “Beautiful Thing”. The music, the sweet characters and the British accent always got me.

    It will be interesting to follow your blog from now on.

    Nahno

    • Robin Hartman

      Loved Eating out, it was quite funny haha! Hedwig is a great movie, you should really watch it. I love the songs in there my fav is the one about the origin of love, which is based off of the androgyny myth.
      And thank you, im glad you like my blog XD

  5. Dan

    I really agree with including ” Big Gay Musical” This director (who, like Hitchcock always appears in his movies) Knows how to turn out a great entertainment on a shoestring. The Dancing is fantastic! However He always also includes a “Drunk Scene” And He can not either write nor direct a true drunk and it always falls flat! What a shame.
    I would suggest both “Bear City” and “Big Eden”. Bear City lets the sharp dialogue fly and the comedy is good even if you do not like “bears”. “Big Eden” has some great physical comedy as inanimate objects seem to fight our hero at every turn.

    I am running another 16 week course on Gay Cinema at our St. Louis LGBT Center this summer.

Leave a Reply

